Red Bull nets 1-2 in Race 14 from Darwin

2023-06-18 14:15:00

Red Bull nets 1-2 in Race 14 from Darwin
Triple Eight Race Engineering has kicked off Sunday strong at the betr Darwin Triple Crown, with drivers Broc Feeney and Shane van Gisbergen coming home first and second in Race 14 of the 2023 Repco Supercars Championship.

It is Feeney's fourth win of 2023 and follows his third pole of the current campaign; every time he has taken pole he has converted it into a victory.

All four of Feeney's wins this year – as well as his first career win at the 2022 Adelaide 500 – have all come on Sunday.

The last time the Red Bulls came home 1-2 was Tasmania in 2022 when van Gisbergen led Feeney home, which was Feeney's first career podium. The duo did take the chequered flag first and second at the 2023 season opener in Newcastle, but both cars were disqualified post-race for a technical breach.

Brad Jones Racing's Andre Heimgartner (No. 8 R&J Batteries Chevrolet Camaro) rounded out the podium in third, the Kiwi's third visit to the rostrum this season. Two of Heimgartner's teammates – Macauley Jones (No. 96 Pizza Hut Chevrolet Camaro) and Bryce Fullwood (No. 14 Middy's Electrical Chevrolet Camaro) – finished seventh and eighth in a strong result for the Albury-based team.

Championship leaders Brodie Kostecki (No. 99 Coca-Cola Chevrolet Camaro) and Will Brown (No. 9 Coca-Cola Chevrolet Camaro) finished fourth and fifth in Race 14, and retain their positions in first and second in the current drivers' championship.

Less than a day after his Mustang suffered a spectacular fire while leading Race 13, Cam Waters (No. 6 Monster Energy Ford Mustang) stormed from a 25th-place starting position to finish 12th in Race 14, while fellow Ford man Chaz Mostert (No. 25 Mobil 1 Optus Ford Mustang) climbed from 24th to 13th.

Race 15 will conclude the betr Darwin Triple Crown later this afternoon, where Matt Stone Racing's Jack Le Brocq (No. 34 Truck Assist Chevrolet Camaro) will start from pole for the first time in his Supercars career.

The 35-lap race begins at 3:25 p.m. ACST, and can be found live on Seven and Foxtel, with streaming available on 7plus and Kayo.

Leave a comment

Comments have to be approved before showing up